October 9-11, 2013 - Nice, France - Extended Submission Deadline May 15th, 2013

http://www.systol13.org













Chairs

General Chair Didier THEILLIOL University of Lorraine, France didier.theilliol (at) univ-lorraine.fr

General Vice Chair Józef KORBICZ University of Zielona Gora, Poland j.korbicz (at) issi.uz.zgora.pl

Program Chair Andreas VARGA German Aerospace Center, Germany andreas.varga (at) dlr.de

Program Vice Chair Frederic HAMELIN University of Lorraine, France frederic.hamelin (at) univ-lorraine.fr

Industry & Applications Chair Peter FOGH ODGAARD Aalborg University, Denmark pfo (at) es.aau.dk

Plenary Session Chair Silvio SIMANI University of Ferrara, Italy silvio.simani (at) unife.it

Invited Session Chair Christophe AUBRUN University of Lorraine, France christophe.aubrun (at) univ-lorraine.fr

Registration & Finance Chair Didier MAQUIN University of Lorraine, France didier.maquin (at) univ-lorraine.fr

Publications & Publicity Chair Jean-Philippe GEORGES University of Lorraine, France jean-philippe.georges (at) univlorraine.fr

Local Arrangements Chair Dominique SAUTER University of Lorraine, France dominique.sauter (at) univ-lorraine.fr

Secretariat Carole COURRIER University of Lorraine, France

Important dates
Submission of draft papers:
April 30th May 15th 2013
Notification of acceptance:
July 1st July 10th 2013
Final version due:

Financial Sponsor

September 1st, 2013

Centre de Recherche en Automatique de Nancy

Technical Co-Sponsors

IEEE Control Systems Society
IEEE Reliability Society
GDR MACS

Scope of SysTol'13

Faults/failures in technical systems may have many undesired consequences as damage to technical parts of plants, endangering of human life or pollution of the environment. Equipment failures may also have profound negative impact on production costs and product quality. The development of fault diagnosis methods allowing early detection of faults/failures is crucial in order to protect complex manufacturing machineries, to increase human life safety and to support decision making on emergency actions and repairs. Moreover, in highly automated industrial systems where maintenance or repair cannot be carried-out immediately, it is crucial to employ fault-tolerant control systems capable of ensuring acceptable performance even in the presence of faults. The conference will bring together academics, engineers and practitioners active in the fields of fault diagnosis, fault tolerant control and their application in process monitoring and maintenance. The conference main aims are:

- to showcase current research results and recent developments of intelligent techniques;
- to present practical applications and emphasize open problems;
- to provide a forum for industry to signal its needs and priorities.

Three years ago, the 1st International Conference on Control and Fault-Tolerant Systems (Systol'10) was a success and demonstrated the demand for establishing a permanent scientific forum in the general area of system monitoring, fault diagnosis and fault-tolerant control. The Second conference on Control and Fault-Tolerant Systems (Systol'13), through its technical program, will provide a unique opportunity for the academic and industrial community to formulate new challenges, share solutions and discuss future research directions. Presentations of theoretical results accompanied by practice related experiments are encouraged.

Plenary/Semi Plenary speakers



Doctor Sajjad (Fekri) Fekriasl

ALSTOM Grid, UK

Robust Control Systems for Modern

Power Converters: Applications and

Challenges



Doctor Alexander Horch

ABB Corporate Research, Germany

Industrial application of condition

monitoring and diagnosis - prospects
and pitfalls?



and pitfalls?

Professor Pierre-Etienne Labeau

Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

Adapting dynamic reliability from

probabilistic safety analysis to faulttolerant control?



Professor Jan Maciejowski

Cambridge University, UK

Fault tolerant control using Gaussian
processes and model predictive control



Professor Olivier Sename
Grenoble Institute of Technology,
France
LPV methods for fault-tolerant
vehicle dynamic control
Professor Youmin Zhang
Concardia University, Canada



Concordia University, Canada
Challenges, Opportunities, and
Developments on Fault-Tolerant
Control with Applications to
Autonomous Unmanned Systems

Paper submission/proceedings

Papers must be submitted electronically via web upload only. Full papers should be submitted in standard IEEE A4 paper and double-column format for conferences. Six pages are allowed for each paper. Submitted papers will undergo a peer review process, co-ordinated by the Program Chairs and the IPC. Please visit the conference website for further information. Proceedings of the conference will be produced in compliance with IEEE Xplore's PDF requirements for immediate inclusion in the IEEE Electronic Library on IEEE Xplore.

International Program Committee

Christophe Aubrun (France) - Michèle Basseville (France) - Christophe Bérenguer (France) - Mogens Blanke (Denmark) - József Bokor (Hungary) - Alessandro Casavola (Italy) - Tongwen Chen (Canada) - Vincent Cocquempot (France) - Steven X. Ding (Germany) - Roger Dixon (United Kingdom) - András Edelmayer (Hungary) - Christopher Edwards (United Kingdom) - Erik Frisk (Sweden) - Jean-Philippe Georges (France) - Janos Gertler (United States of America) - Alessandro Giua (Italy) - Philippe Goupil (France) - Katalin Hangos (Hungary) - David Henry (France) - Benoit Iung (France) - Sirkka-Liisa Jämsä-Jounela (Finland) - Jin Jiang (Canada) - Qi Juntong (China) - Michel Kinnaert (Belgium) - Jan Maciej Kościelny (Poland) - Zdzisław Kowalczuk (Poland) - Dimitri Lefebvre (France) - Suzanne Lesecq (France) - Didier Maquin (France) - Andres Marcos (Spain) - Letijia Mirea (Romania) - Henrik Niemann (Denmark) - Hassan Noura (United Arab Emirates) - Peter Fogh Odgaard (Denmark) - Mustapha Ouladsine (France) - Thomas Parisini (Italy) - Pierre Persin (France) - Marios M. Polycarpou (Cyprus) - Popescu Theodor Dan (Romania) - Vicenç Puig (Spain) - Joseba Quevedo (Spain) - José Ragot (France) - Jan Richter (Germany) - José Sá da Costa (Portugal) - Mehrdad Saif (Canada) - Dominique Sauter (France) - Peter Seiler (United States of America) - Maria Seron (Australia) - Alexey Shumsky (Russia) - Miroslav Šimandl (Czech Republic) - Silvio Simani (Italy) - Jakob Stoustrup (Denmark) - Dariusz Uciński (Poland) - Cristina Verde (Mexico) - Michel Verhaegen (Netherlands) - Marcin Witczak (Poland) - Hao Yang (China) - Alexey Zakharov (Finland) - Ping Zhang (Germany) - Qing Zhao (Canada)

